9 Atlanta Braves players eligible for 2023 All-MLB team

The Braves have a plethora of nominees for this years All-MLB team. See which 2023 standouts made the cut.
Washington Nationals v Atlanta Braves
Washington Nationals v Atlanta Braves / Kevin D. Liles/Atlanta Braves/GettyImages

Back in 2019 Major League baseball introduced the All-MLB teams. Much like receiving All-NBA in basketball and All-Pro in the NFL, the first and second team All-MLB winners are recognized as the elite talent at their respective position. Last season, Max Fried was the lone Braves representative, earning a second team selection.

This season they have an outstanding NINE separate nominations. The impressive list of possible All-MLB Braves selections are as followed: Matt Olson, Ozzie Albies, Orlando Arcia, Austin Riley, Sean Murphy, Marcell Ozuna, Ronald Acuña Jr., Spencer Strider, and Raisel Iglesias.

All-MLB team selections base off a much different formula than other media voted awards. The first and second team selections formula is a 50% fan vote, combined with the other half of the vote coming from media members and players.

Each of the nine Atlanta Braves players nominated have compelling cases. Some, like Ronald Acuña Jr. seem to be a lock for first team, whereas others like Orlando Arcia will have a hard time breaking through. If I had to choose right now, I would figure Acuña Jr., Olson, and Strider all receive a first or second team selection.

Even though Atlanta sits with nine nominations, there is a case to be had that Michael Harris II was snubbed as a candidate as well. His 115 wRC+ and 4.0 fWAR both trump Cleveland Guardians outfield nominee, Steven Kwan who's numbers sat at a 100 wRC+ and 2.9 fWAR.

Voting ends November 19th at 8:00 pm EST. Winners will be announced on December 16th. Since fan voting accounts for 50% of the results, be sure to vote your favorite Braves players for All-MLB by going to official MLB voting site here. Your support could be the difference in making sure more than one deserving Atlanta Brave is selected for this award.